Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Erica tutors in Miami, FL

Erica J.

Private tutor in Miami, FL

5Erica J.

7 reviews

Education

Winston Salem State University - BA, English

Experience

I received my bachelor's in English from Winston Salem State University, where I minored in Dramatic Arts. After graduated, I relocated to work with students in the inner city to improve attendance, behavior, and academic performance. In addition to mentoring and tutoring, I made an effort to be a role model for the young people I work with. I also spent a year teaching in an intensive reading classroom. Currently, I am a Team Leader at the high school and tutor freshmen in writing and other English skills. I've also worked with younger children in a variety of subject areas. I most enjoy tutoring students in reading, since strong reading skills are at the core of so many other areas of learning, within and outside the academic arena. I employ an unusual approach to tutoring. I prefer students to bring materials and, when possible, input from their teachers indicating the areas of greatest concern. While I don't find it most effective to answer the questions for the student, I do ask questions in order to guide the student and offer reinforcement to aid in understanding. Often, it is helpful (even necessary) to assist the student in working through the problem. When I'm not teaching or tutoring, I like to go hang out at the beach, engage in cultural activities, watch movies, read, and talk to my family. I feel privileged to be able to provide a high-quality education to others.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

When I am not working I enjoy going to the beach, watching movies, attending cultural activities, reading and talking with family. I enjoy the gift that I have which is understanding and providing an excellent education for others.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!